Africans on the Move: Critical Reflections on Mobility, Citizenship and Belonging

14. Juli 2022

Africans on the move: Critical Reflections on Mobility, Citizenship and Belonging

The series explores a central theme in migration research, namely the identity-mobility nexus, but does so through ongoing research from across the African continent. The theme encompasses issues relating to xenophobia and migrant integration, documentation and migrant rights, and the role of the diaspora. The emphasis is on intra-African migration, to balance the previous series’ focus on Afro-European relations.

The lecture series combines three different virtual formats, all exploring aspects of the overall theme. The first session presents the Annual AMMODI Keynote Lecture, a traditional lecture format, followed by a Q&A session. The second session is in the form of a Research Lab, in which two scholars will present ongoing work and receive feedback from a discussant and from the listeners. The third and final session is organised as a Roundtable discussion with invited panellists, with speakers representing different geographical regions and thematic specialisations as well as prior research experience.

 

ROUNDTABLE

  • 14th July 2022 at 5pm CEST / 6pm EAT / 5pm SAST / 4pm WAT

Speakers:

  • Milcah Abasabyona | Makerere University
  • Francis Akindes | Université Alassane Ouattara
  • Adeoye Akinola | Institute for Pan-African Thought and Conversation
  • Amanda Hammar | University of Copenhagen

Das vollständige Programm gibt es hier als PDF.

Wir bitten um Anmeldung für die Teilnahme via Zoom (Name, Vorname, Mailadresse; unten auf dieser Seite). Sie erhalten dann vor Veranstaltungsbeginn einen Zoom-Link zur Teilnahme. Mit der Teilnahme am Zoom-Meeting erklären Sie sich mit dem Datenschutzhinweis einverstanden (hier). Bei Teilnahme vor Ort im Institut bitten wir, die aktuellen Corona-Verordnungen des Landes Baden-Württemberg und des Bundes zu beachten.

 

Past events in this series:

KEYNOTE LECTURE

  • 30th June 2022 at 5pm CEST / 6pm EAT / 5pm SAST / 4pm WAT
  • Presenter: Francis Nyamnjoh | University of Cape Town “Uncontaining Mobility: Lessons from Covid-19”

RESEARCH LAB

  • 7th July 2022 at 2pm – 15h30 CEST / 3pm EAT / 2pm SAST / 1pm WAT

Presenters:

  • Nora Bardelli | Université de Neuchâtel  "‹ Là où l’on va il faut danser comme ils dansent ›:different experiences of belonging and integration of refugees from Mali living in Burkina Faso"
  • Abdoulaye Ngom | University of Ziguinchor « ‹ Mbeuk mi › ou l’émigration irrégulière par la voie maritime au Sénégal: enjeux, causes et actualité »
  • Discussant: Lucy Hovil | Refugee Law Initiative, University of London

 

Buchungsoptionen: 
14th July 2022 at 5pm CEST / 6pm EAT / 5pm SAST / 4pm WAT: Milcah Abasabyona, Francis Akindes, Adeoye Akinola, Amanda Hammar
14.07.2022