MIASA

The Maria Sibylla Merian Institute for Advanced Studies in Africa (MIASA) is an international research center at the University of Ghana in Legon, Accra. MIASA is committed to reducing global asymmetries in the production of knowledge and aims to facilitate stronger cooperation among and between researchers in both Anglo- and Francophone Africa. The central goal of MIASA is to enhance the visibility of scientific research conducted by researchers from Sub-Saharan Africa who are working in the Social Sciences and Humanities.

 

News

Call for Applications

Two German- West African Tandem Fellowships (Junior/Senior) for 3-5 months each at the University of Ghana  for the Academic Year 2020/21, Application deadline: September 30, 2019, 24 h CET

Ten Individual Fellowships (Junior/Senior) for 3-5 months at the University of Ghana for the Academic Year 2020/21, Application deadline: September 30, 2019, 24 h CET

4-month Interdisciplinary Fellow Group (Junior/Senior) at the University of Ghana  in the period from mid-January to June 2021, Application deadline: September 30, 2019, 24 h CET

___________________

MIASA hosts Interdisciplinary Fellow Groups (IFGs). The groups will convene for a period of four months, each group consisting of 8 to12 scholars who will collaborate on a pertinent and innovative research question linked to the Sustainable Governance topic:

___________________

Guest at ABI: Doctoral students from the SDG Graduate Schools ‘Performing Sustainability’ presented their research

On 17th July, participants of the DAAD-funded SDG Graduate School 'Performing Sustainability - Cultures and Development in West-Africa' were guests at the ABI. During the two-day workshop, which also took place at Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies (FRIAS), the doctoral students presented their research on migration, land conflicts and resistance to the Boko Haram group, located in Ghana and Nigeria, and discussed it together with the scientists of the ABI. The ABI doctoral students Michael Cobb and Erik Plänitz also presented their doctoral projects. The interdisciplinary Research Training Group is led by three universities: Maiduguri (Nigeria), Cape Coast (Ghana) and Hildesheim (Germany). All of the research projects in the program focus on innovative research that combines approaches from performance, art, and culture. The research results should contribute to sustainable development in the participating countries, as agreed in the goals (Sustainable Development Goals, SDG) of the United Nations (UN). A special focus is therefore placed on questions of peace and conflict resolution.

___________________

Guest at ABI: Representative of STIAS South Africa

On Monday, 1 July 2019, the Arnold-Bergstraesser-Institute (ABI) welcomed visiting scholars from South Africa, namely the Director of the Stellenbosch Institute for Advanced Study (STIAS), Professor Edward K. Kirumira, and his colleague Christoff Pauw, Programme Manager at STIAS. Further visitors were the MIASA Director of Ghana, Professor Abena D. Oduro, and the MIASA Director of Germany, Professor Gordon Crawford (UK). Together with colleagues from the ABI, they discussed future options for cooperation between STIAS and MIASA. In the evening, the Rector of the University of Freiburg, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans-Jochen Schiewer, welcomed our guests in Freiburg’s city center.

___________________

MIASA Reception at ECAS8 on June 12, 2019

On the occasion of the 8th European Conference on African Studies in Edinburgh, MIASA held a small reception at the University of Edinburgh on June 12, 2019. The MIASA Director Germany, Prof. Gordon Crawford, and the President of the Executive Council, Prof. Andreas Mehler, introduced MIASA and gave an update on MIASA’s activities in its first year. Among those in attendance were members of the Academic Advisory Board, Prof. Paul Nugent, Prof. Andreas Eckert, Prof. Birgit Meyer, as well as members of the consortium, Prof. Mamadou Diawara (Frankfurt), Dr. Stefan Schmid (Frankfurt), Dr. Susann Baller (DHIP), and Dr. Charlotte Heyl (GIGA). Furthermore, some members of MIASA’s first Interdisciplinary Fellow Group came together at this event with future fellows, fellowship applicants as well as scholars interested in MIASA fellowships. The reception and participation at ECAS was utilized to further disseminate the calls for fellowship applications at MIASA.

_____________________

International workshop: Issues of Restitution and Repatriation of Looted and Illegally Acquired African Objects in European Museums

  • 13-14 December 2018
  • Institute of African Studies, University of Ghana, Legon, Accra
  • The participants of the workshop published the following statement

_____________________

Inaugural conference: Africa’s Institutions for Sustainable Governance

The Maria Sibylla Merian Institute for Advanced Studies in Africa (MIASA) has held its inaugural conference at the University of Ghana. Under the theme “Africa’s Institutions for Sustainable Governance” the event spanned between Thursday, 27th and Friday, 28th of September, 2018. The conference was attended by over 300 scholars from universities in Germany and across Africa. Participants were enlightened on topics in the areas of Gender, Democracy, Sustainable Energy, Agriculture, Elections and Peace during keynote addresses and plenary sessions.

 

 

The Maria Sibylla Merian Institute for Advanced Studies in Africa (MIASA) is an international research center at the University of Ghana in Legon, Accra. The Institute facilitates the cooperation of African scientists with their international peers beyond disciplinary and geographical boundaries. In order to achieve this goal, MIASA is awarding scholarships to junior and more established researchers. These researchers will work during a pre-project phase from 2018 till 2020 on the central topic Sustainable Governance. Governance shall be defined as the interplay of informal and formal rules that guide public affairs and are embedded into the social, material and cultural practices of daily life. The three research foci of MIASA, under the heading of Sustainable Governance, are: transformation towards sustainability, sustainable Conflict Management, and sustainable democracy.

MIASA is committed to reducing global asymmetries in the production of knowledge and aims to facilitate stronger cooperation among and between researchers in both Anglo- and Francophone Africa. The central goal of MIASA is to enhance the visibility of scientific research conducted by researchers from Sub-Saharan Africa who are working in the Social Sciences and Humanities.

The Arnold Bergstraesser Institute (ABI) and additional consortium partners in Germany

  • Senegal (Centre de Recherches sur les Politiques Sociales - CREPOS) and
  • Ghana (among others the Kofi Annan International Peacekeeping Training Centre - KAIPTC and the Ghana Center for Democratic Development - CDD-Ghana)

are involved in the establishment of the research center. The Centre de Recherches sur les Politiques Sociales in Dakar/Senegal serves a second site of MIASA.

Andreas Mehler (Director of the ABI) is the Chair of the Executive Council of MIASA and the initiator of the project. Based upon its academic and country specific expertise, the ABI is working with MIASA in developing and designing its research program, as well as in identifying multiples actors in academia and society that will be active in the MIASA network. Furthermore the ABI will be hosting delegations from Africa within the framework of MIASA.

The African-European exchange of knowledge through MIASA –the 4th Maria Sibylla Merian Centre for Advanced Studies – is financed by the German Federal Ministry for Education and Research/ Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF). The costs for staff, administration and operating costs will be incurred by the University of Ghana.

Additional information on MIASA can be found here: https://www.ug.edu.gh/mias-africa/

Parallel to MIASA, an Africa Centre for Transregional Research is currently being established at the University of Freiburg. The centre hosts African researchers who set their research agenda out of their own interest and thus in a thematically open manner. In line with the new approach of reciprocal research, their data collection takes place in Europe in order to investigate global and transregional phenomena and challenges from an African perspective. The research results are presented in Europe and published open access in order to counteract an exclusive, often Eurocentric production and dissemination of knowledge. In this context, the Africa Centre is planning several internationally visible symposia and smaller specialised events in Freiburg and Stuttgart in the coming years.  

In addition, the Africa Centre aims to establish a differentiated image of African reality in the general public, the Freiburg City Society and beyond, for example within the framework of the Freiburg Africa Talks, which started in June 2019 in cooperation with the Colloquium Politicum and the Africa Film Series in cooperation with the academic film club.

Annika Hampel is the contact person for the to be established Africa Centre for Transregional Research.

MIASA

Das Maria Sibylla Merian Institute for Advanced Studies in Africa (MIASA) ist ein internationales Forschungskolleg an der Universität Ghana in Legon, Accra. MIASA setzt sich für den Abbau globaler Asymmetrien in der Wissensproduktion und eine stärkere Zusammenarbeit von Forschenden aus dem anglophonen und dem frankophonen Afrika ein. Das vorrangige Ziel von MIASA ist, die weltweite Sichtbarkeit der geistes-, sozial- und kulturwissenschaftlichen Forschung von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aus Subsahara-Afrika zu erhöhen.

 

Aktuelles

Call for Applications

Two German- West African Tandem Fellowships (Junior/Senior) for 3-5 months each at the University of Ghana  for the Academic Year 2020/21, Application deadline: September 30, 2019, 24 h CET

Ten Individual Fellowships (Junior/Senior) for 3-5 months at the University of Ghana for the Academic Year 2020/21, Application deadline: September 30, 2019, 24 h CET

4-month Interdisciplinary Fellow Group (Junior/Senior) at the University of Ghana  in the period from mid-January to June 2021, Application deadline: September 30, 2019, 24 h CET

___________________

Interdisciplinary Fellow Groups (IFGs)

MIASA richtet Interdisciplinary Fellow Groups (IFGs) aus. Die Gruppen werden für einen Zeitraum von etwa vier Monaten zusammenkommen, wobei jede Gruppe aus 8 bis12 WissenschaftlerInnen besteht, die an einer relevanten und innovativen Forschungsfrage im Zusammenhang mit dem Thema "Sustainable Governance" zusammenarbeiten:

___________________

Zu Gast am ABI: Doktoranden von der SDG Graduate School `Performing Sustainability` stellten ihre Forschung vor

Am 17. Juli waren Teilnehmende der DAAD-geförderten SDG Graduate School ‚Performing Sustainability - Cultures and Development in West-Africa‘ zu Gast am ABI. Im Rahmen des zweitägigen Workshops, der ebenso am Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies (FRIAS) stattfand, haben die Doktoranden ihre in Ghana und Nigeria verorteten Forschungen zu Migration, Landkonflikten und Widerstand gegen die Gruppierung Boko Haram vorgestellt und gemeinsam mit den Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern des ABI diskutiert. Auch die Doktoranden des ABI Michael Cobb und Erik Plänitz haben ihre Promotionsprojekte präsentiert. Das interdisziplinäre Graduiertenkolleg wird von drei Universitäten geleitet: die Universitäten Maiduguri (Nigeria), Cape Coast (Ghana) und Hildesheim (Germany). Alle Forschungsprojekte des Kollegs konzentrieren sich auf innovative Forschung, die Ansätze aus Performance, Kunst und Kultur zusammenführt. Die Forschungsergebnisse sollen zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung in den beteiligten Ländern, wie in den Zielen (Sustainable Development Goals, SDG) der Vereinten Nationen (UN) vereinbart, beitragen. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt daher auf Fragen der Friedens- und der Konfliktlösung.

___________________

Zu Gast am ABI: Vertreter des STIAS Südafrika

Am Montag, 1. Juli 2019, waren der Direktor des Stellenbosch Institute for Advanced Study (STIAS), Professor Edward K. Kirumira, mit seinem Kollegen Christoff Pauw, Programme Manager am STIAS aus Südafrika zu Besuch am Arnold-Bergstraesser-Institut (ABI). Gleichzeitig waren die MIASA-Direktorin aus Ghana, Professor Abena D. Oduro, und der MIASA-Direktor für Deutschland, Professor Gordon Crawford (UK) zu Gast. Gemeinsam mit den Kolleginnen und Kollegen des ABI haben sie zukünftige Kooperationsmöglichkeiten zwischen dem STIAS und MIASA besprochen. Abends hat der Rektor der Universität Freiburg, Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans-Jochen Schiewer, die Gäste in der Freiburger Innenstadt willkommen geheißen.

___________________

MIASA Reception @ ECAS8 am 12. Juni 2019

Anlässlich der 8. Europäischen Konferenz für Afrikastudien in Edinburgh veranstaltete MIASA am 12. Juni 2019 einen kleinen Empfang an der University of Edinburgh. Der MIASA-Direktor Deutschland, Prof. Gordon Crawford, und der Präsident des Exekutivrats, Prof. Andreas Mehler, stellten MIASA vor und berichteten über die Aktivitäten im ersten Jahr. Unter den TeilnehmerInnen waren die Mitglieder des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats, Prof. Paul Nugent, Prof. Andreas Eckert, Prof. Birgit Meyer, sowie die Mitglieder des Konsortiums, Prof. Mamadou Diawara (Frankfurt), Dr. Stefan Schmid (Frankfurt) Dr. Susann Baller (DHIP) und Dr. Charlotte Heyl (GIGA). Darüber hinaus trafen sich einige Mitglieder der ersten Interdisziplinären Fellowgruppe von MIASA zu dieser Veranstaltung mit zukünftigen Stipendiaten, Stipendienbewerbern sowie an MIASA-Stipendien interessierten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern. Der Empfang und die Teilnahme an ECAS wurde genutzt, um die Aufrufe zur Beantragung von Stipendien bei MIASA weiter zu verbreiten.
___________________

Mehr Kooperation mit Ghana

ABI-Direktor Andreas Mehler war an der Seite von Rektor Hans-Jochen Schiewer (Universität Freiburg) und Freiburgs Oberbürgermeister Martin Horn in Accra im April 2019 und hat dort das MIASA, die Leitungsebene der University of Ghana und den Bürgermeister von Accra besucht. Die Perspektiven für mehr Kooperation – über das große BMBF-geförderte MIASA-Projekt hinaus – sind ausgezeichnet, berichtet Mehler im Interview.

___________________

International workshop: Issues of Restitution and Repatriation of Looted and Illegally Acquired African Objects in European Museums

_________________

Eröffnungskonferenz: Afrikas Institutionen für nachhaltige Regierungsführung

Das Maria Sibylla Merian Institute for Advanced Studies in Africa (MIASA) hat seine Gründungskonferenz an der Universität von Ghana abgehalten. Unter dem Motto "Afrikas Institutionen für nachhaltige Regierungsführung" fand die Veranstaltung von Donnerstag, 27. bis Freitag, 28. September 2018 statt. An der Konferenz nahmen über 300 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern von Universitäten in Deutschland und ganz Afrika teil. In Grundsatzreden und Plenarsitzungen wurden den Teilnehmenden Themen aus den Bereichen Gender, Demokratie, nachhaltige Energie, Landwirtschaft, Wahlen und Frieden nähergebracht.
Die Pressemeldung zur Eröffnungskonferenz von MIASA in Accra / Ghana finden Sie hier.

_________________

Das Maria Sibylla Merian Institute for Advanced Studies in Africa (MIASA) ist ein internationales Forschungskolleg an der Universität Ghana in Legon, Accra. Das Institut fördert die Zusammenarbeit ghanaischer Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler mit internationalen Kolleginnen und Kollegen über Disziplinen- und Ländergrenzen hinweg. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, vergibt das Forschungskolleg Stipendien für Nachwuchsforscherinnen und -forscher sowie für etablierte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die in der Projektvorphase von 2018 bis 2020 zu dem übergeordneten Thema Sustainable Governance arbeiten. Governance definieren wir als das Zusammenspiel von informellen und formalen Regeln zur Steuerung öffentlicher Angelegenheiten, eingebettet in soziale, materielle und kulturelle Praktiken des täglichen Lebens. Die drei Forschungsschwerpunkte von MIASA unter dem Hauptthema Sustainable Governance sind: Nachhaltigkeitstransformation, nachhaltiges Konfliktmanagement und nachhaltige Demokratie.

MIASA setzt sich für den Abbau globaler Asymmetrien in der Wissensproduktion und eine stärkere Zusammenarbeit von Forschenden aus dem anglophonen und dem frankophonen Afrika ein. Das vorangestellte Ziel von MIASA ist, die weltweite Sichtbarkeit der geistes-, sozial- und kulturwissenschaftlichen Forschung von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aus Subsahara-Afrika zu erhöhen.

Das Arnold-Bergstraesser-Institut (ABI) ist gemeinsam mit fünf weiteren Konsortialpartnern aus Deutschland und Frankreich

sowie weiteren Partnern aus Accra (u.a. Kofi Annan International Peacekeeping Training Centre - KAIPTC und The Ghana Center for Democratic Development - CDD-Ghana) und einem Partner in Dakar/Senegal (Centre de Recherches sur les Politiques Sociales - CREPOS), der gleichzeitig als zweiter Standort von MIASA dient, am Aufbau des Forschungskollegs auf dem Campus der Universität Ghana in Legon, Accra beteiligt.

Andreas Mehler, Direktor des Arnold-Bergstraesser-Instituts, ist Vorsitzender des Exekutivrats von MIASA und Initiator des Projekts. Das ABI mit seiner Fach- und Länder-Expertise begleitet MIASA demnach bei der Entwicklung und Ausgestaltung des Forschungsprogramms sowie bei der Identifikation einer Vielzahl von Akteuren aus Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft, die im Netzwerk MIASA tätig sind bzw. sein werden. Das ABI ist darüber hinaus Gastgeber der im Rahmen von MIASA anreisenden Delegationen aus Afrika. Interview mit Andreas Mehler zu MIASA

Der afrikanisch-europäische Wissenschaftsaustausch von MIASA - als viertes Maria Sibylla Merian Centre for Advanced Studies - wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) finanziert, während die Personal-, Verwaltungs- und Betriebskosten vor Ort von der Universität Ghana getragen werden.

Weitere Informationen über MIASA finden Sie unter: https://www.ug.edu.gh/mias-africa/

Parallel zu MIASA wird derzeit ein Afrika-Zentrum für Transregionale Forschung an der Universität Freiburg etabliert. Das Zentrum ist Gastgeber für afrikanische ForscherInnen, die aus eigenem Erkenntnisinteresse und damit thematisch offen ihre Forschungsagenda setzen. Dabei findet im Sinne des neuen Ansatzes eines reziproken Forschens ihre Datenerhebung in Europa statt, um globale und transregionale Phänomene bzw. Herausforderungen aus afrikanischer Perspektive mit Blick auf europäische Empirie zu erforschen. Die Forschungsergebnisse werden von ihnen in Europa präsentiert und open access veröffentlicht, um einer exkludierenden, oft eurozentrischen Wissensproduktion und -verbreitung entgegenzuwirken. Das Afrika-Zentrum plant in diesem Zusammenhang für die kommenden Jahre mehrere international sichtbare Fachkonferenzen und themenspezialisierte kleinere Veranstaltungen in Freiburg und Stuttgart.

Außerdem zielt das Afrika-Zentrum darauf ab, ein differenziertes Bild afrikanischer Wirklichkeit in die breite Öffentlichkeit, die Stadtgesellschaft Freiburg und darüber hinaus, zu etablieren, bspw. im Rahmen der Freiburger Afrikagespräche, die im Juni 2019 in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Colloquium Politicum gestartet sind und der Afrika Filmreihe in Zusammenarbeit mit dem akademischen Filmclub.

Annika Hampel ist Ansprechpartnern für das im Aufbau befindliche Afrika-Zentrum.